Privilege

The greatest privilege of teaching is seeing the fruits of my labor. As I sit down to write this post, I have plans to attend a birthday dinner for a former student. A year later, she and her mum have still wanted to keep in touch. This student has such a kind, gentle, joyful soul. I’m privileged that she felt connected enough to have me tag along. Some days, I struggle to find inspiration to go to work. The exhaustion from lesson planning and grading kick in, or I grow irritated with disciplining someone else’s child. Then moments like this happen- moments where I see that I’ve made a difference- and I am rejuvenated once again.

Cheers to the teachers whose passion for their job overflows into the lives of their students. We have the best job in the world!

Leave a Reply

